2008 - 2012

Irina Bokova, Bulgaria

Director-General of UNESCO; former Bulgarian Ambassador to France and Monaco; former Permanent Delegate to UNESCO

Prof. Dr. Theo van Boven, Netherlands

Professor emeritus of international Law at the University
of Maastricht; former UN-Special Rapporteur on the Question of Torture; former Director of the UN-Division for Human Rights; former Acting Registrar of the “International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia”

Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Iran

Lawyer; Former Teacher at the University of Tehran; Laureate of the Nobel Iran Peace Prize 2003; Founder and legal advisor of the Society for Protecting the Rights of Children in Iran

Dr. h.c. Gareth Evans, Australia

Chancellor of the Australian National University; President Emeritus of the International Crisis Group; Member of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Committee on Genocide Prevention; Former Foreign Minister of Australia; Laureate of the Four Freedoms Award for Freedom from Fear 2010

Prof. Dr. Rajmohan Gandhi, India

Professor of History and Political Science; former leader of the Indian Delegation at the UN Commission on Human Rights in Geneva

Prof. Dr. Maurice Glèlè-Ahanhanzo, Benin

Professor of Law; Member of the UN Human Rights Committee; Member of the Constitutional Court of Benin; President of the Institute for Human Rights and Promotion of Democracy in Benin; he contributed as an expert to the draft of the “African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights”

Maître Daniel Jacoby, France

Lawyer; Secretary-General the Foundation »France Libertés«; Honorary President of the »Fédération Internationale des Ligues des France Droits de l'Homme« (F.I.D.H.)

Dani Karavan, Israel

Internationally highly reputed artist who created the "Way of Human Rights” in Nuremberg in 1993

Dr. Adolfo Pérez Esquivel, Argentina

Civil rights activist and sculptor; Laureate of the Nobel Peace Prize 1980; Initiator of the “Coalition against Impunity"; founder member of the ecumenical Organisation “Service for Justice and Peace”

Dr. h.c. Sonia Picado, Costa Rica

Lawyer; President of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights; President of the UN Voluntary Trust Fund for Victims of Torture; Former Ambassador of Costa Rica to the USA

Dr. Ulrich Maly, Germany

Lord Mayor of the City of Nuremberg

URL of this page